Sixth Mississippi State - UAB Conference on  

May 13-14, 2005
Wise Center, Mississippi State University



Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Mississippi State University
Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Engineering Research Center, Mississippi State University
Electronic Journal of Differential Equations (EJDE)
Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA)
Atlas Conferences
National Science Foundation
Cypress Semiconductor

Principal Speakers:  MARGARET CHENEY, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
LAWRENCE DELUCAS, University of Alabama at Birmingham
THOMAS YIZHAO HOU, California Institute of Technology
MARK LEWIS, University of Alberta
FANG-HUA LIN, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences
ROBERT MEAKIN, U. S. Army, NASA Ames Research Center
LOUIS NIRENBERG, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences
KLAUS SCHMITT, University of Utah

This Interdisciplinary Conference will provide a joint forum where mathematicians, scientists, and engineers from academia and industry can exchange research ideas involving theoretical and applied developments in differential equations and computational simulations. In addition to the eight principal lectures, there will be sessions of twenty minute contributed talks. Reviewed manuscripts will be published as a special issue of the Electronic Journal of Differential Equations.

This conference will also be dedicated to Louis Nirenberg in celebration of his 80th birthday, Klaus Schmitt in celebration of his 65th birthday, and their contributions in mathematics. As part of this celebration special sessions will be organized by Pablo Padilla, (for Louis Nirenberg), and Stephen Cantrel, and Chris Cosner, (for Klaus Schmitt). Also a special lecture, titled Louis Nirenberg and Klaus Schmitt : The Joy of Differential Equations, will be delivered by:

JEAN MAWHIN, University of Catholique de Louvain-Belgium

Pre-registration deadline is May 1, 2005.  Abstracts for contributed papers and special sessions should be submitted electronically no later than March 31, 2005. However, number of contributed papers will be restricted and will be included in the final program only if pre-registration is complete. For further information regarding the organization, program, and submission of abstracts, contact the program chair, Jianping Zhu, at , program co-chair, Hyeona Lim, at , or the organizers:

Ratnasingham Shivaji
Department of Mathematics & Statistics

Mississippi State, MS  39762
Phone: 662-325-3414/325-7136
Fax: 662-325-0005

Bharat Soni
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Birmingham, AL  35294
Phone: 205-934-1820
Fax: 205-975-7217